Image for Blog


what's happening at student media

Student Media earns eight first-place SPJ Region 9 awards


Karen Vega, Jorge Perez Garcia, Justin Taylor, Brian T. McGinn, Kayla Whitney and Angelita Foster received awards for excellence in journalism at the SPJ Region 9 awards ceremony.

MSU Denver Student Media received 16 awards, including eight first-place honors, in the Region 9 Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence competition. The awards for outstanding student journalism were announced April 13 at the regional conference in Santa Fe, N.M. SPJ Region 9 includes Colorado, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming.

The Metropolitan student newspaper received first place in the Best All-Around Non Daily Newspaper category for large schools. Judges said the newspaper “reflects diverse campus interests,” and is “thoughtful” and “well-crafted.” Professionals with at least three years of journalism experience serve as SPJ judges, according to an SPJ press release.

First-place winners from all 12 SPJ regions will advance to the national competition. They will be notified in late spring of their standings, and recognized August 24-26 at the Excellence in Journalism conference in Anaheim, Calif.




Tags: , ,


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply